Weblog: Day 1

July 11, 2006

Today I started working on my first project for my new blog. And that is… building a blog! I have a pretty good background in web development and web design, but I’ve never started a new website from scratch. There is a lot of information out there right now about blogging and there are a lot of options for going about it.

One of the simplest options I considered was a free hosted blog such as Blogger.com or WordPress.com. I felt like these would probably be sufficient for a while, but would ultimately not be flexible enough to support the features that I would like to implement in the future. Both of these have rather rigid page templates and not many options for adding files (pictures, plans, drawings, etc.). Problogger.net had a good overview article that discusses the reasons for going with such a blog.

There are also many good reasons for going with a host for a domain of my own. The biggest reason for me was flexibility. With my own hosted domain I would be able to choose how to design my blog and how to add content. I would have more options if I needed to change the amount of storage space or bandwidth I needed to use. In addition, hosting my blog in this way allowed me to choose a unique domain name. Ultimately, these are the things I desired so that I could start simply and have lots of options to increase the value of my blog as it developed.

One Response to “Weblog: Day 1”

  1. markofando Says:

    Want to start your private office arms race right now?

    I just got my own USB rocket launcher 🙂 Awsome thing.

    Plug into your computer and you got a remote controlled office missile launcher with 360 degrees horizontal and 45 degree vertival rotation with a range of more than 6 meters – which gives you a coverage of 113 square meters round your workplace.
    You can get the gadget here: http://tinyurl.com/2qul3c

    Check out the video they have on the page.

    Cheers

    Marko Fando


Leave a Reply

